Map showing the ARC region within the eastern United States

The Creating a Culture of Health in Appalachia initiative examines the health of communities within the Appalachian Region, a 205,000-square-mile region that follows the spine of the Appalachian Mountains from southern New York to northern Mississippi.

It includes 420 counties across 13 states: Alabama, Georgia, Kentucky, Maryland, Mississippi, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.

Learn more about the Appalachian Region >